

Happy Holidays from the IALS! Best Wishes for 2012!



New IALS General Secretary and Treasurer!

The Board of Governors of the International Association of Law Schools is pleased to announce the election of Professor Barbara Holden-Smith, as its new General Secretary and Treasurer. Professor Holden-Smith is the Vice-Dean of Cornell Law School at Cornell University. She brings to this position a wealth of scholarly and administrative experience which will solidify the transition to an independent secretariat.

While the transition has taken longer than originally anticipated, with Barbara's invaluable assistance, we are well on our way to establishing a robust structure to serve our members' needs and advance the cause of global legal education. For five years she served as director of Cornell's Summer Law Institute in Suzhou, China. She also helped found the Avon Global Center for Women and Justice, she is currently on the Steering Committee. She is one of the negotiators for international cooperative agreements with KoGuan Law School, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, O.P. Jindal Global University Law School, and the law faculty at University of Pretoria, South Africa.

Professor Holden-Smith is a graduate of the University of Chicago Law School, she spent a year in an Illinois law firm and then entered a clerkship with the Hon. Ann C. Williams of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Illinois. She then joined the Washington, D.C. law firm of Arnold & Porter. She joined the Cornell Law School Faculty in 1990.

Save the Date for Bangalore 2012

Please save the date for the IALS General Assembly Conference on Human Rights and the Role of Law Schools to take place at the

National Law School of India University, Bangalore, India.

October 23-25, 2012

More information on this meeting will be sent in the next few months.



School Spotlight: Te Piringa Faculty of Law at The University of Waikato

Te Piringa means 'coming together of people', and the University of Waikato motto is Ko te Tangata, which means 'for the people'. The University of Waikato's Faculty of Law was the first law school established in New Zealand since the late 1800s and is now celebrating its 20th Anniversary in 2011. It distinguishes itself by its inclusiveness as it is professional without being elitist. Launched in 1991, it was established to

uphold three foundational principles: providing high quality legal education that also reflects professional skills, committed to promoting biculturalism, and the teaching of law in a broad social, political, economic and cultural context. Waikato law students learn about Māori Tikanga (customary law, beliefs and protocol) law and practice. The bicultural nature of New Zealand society is embedded in our teaching, with particular reference to the Treaty of Waitangi of 1840 – New Zealand's founding document – that reflected the partnership between the British Crown and the Māori that remains ongoing in the New Zealand of today.

Of the students studying at the Faculty, approximately 25 percent are Māori and eight percent are of Pacific island ancestry. The balance trace their backgrounds to all parts of the world. Across New Zealand, Māori are underrepresented in the profession, yet there are increasing employment opportunities for lawyers who are competent working on Māori issues and with different iwi (tribes) as they seek to settle treaty claims and invest in business.



Visit out site at http://www.waikato.ac.nz/law/

Visit our Website

Officers:

President
Francis SL Wang
Soochow University
China

Vice President
Michael Coper
Australian National University
Australia

Vice President

Aalt Willem Heringa

Maastricht University
The Netherlands

Cornell University United States Immediate Past President

General Secretary/Treasurer Barbara Holden-Smith

Mónica PintoUniversity of Buenos Aires
Argentina

Governing Board:

Jassim Ali Alshamsi United Arab Emirates University UAE

Mary Anne Bobinski University of British Columbia Canada

Nerina Boschiero University of Milan Italy

Fatou Kiné Camara University Cheikh Anta Diop of Dakar Senegal

Lidia Casas Diego Portales University Chile

Akram Daoud An-Najah National University Palestine

V.S. Elizabeth National Law School of India India

Claudio Grossman American University United States

Jukka T. Kekkonen University of Helsinki Finland

Tahir Mamman Nigerian Law School Nigeria

Akram bin Shair Mohamed International Islamic University Malaysia

Valentina Smorgunova Herzen State Pedagogical University Russia

Cheng Han Tan National University of Singapore Singapore

Amy Tsanga University of Zimbabwe Zimbabwe

Fernando Villarreal-Gonda Free Faculty of Law of Monterrey Mexico

To remove your name from our mailing list, please <u>click here</u>.

Questions or comments? E-mail us at ials@ialsnet.org